Friday, April 16th, 2021

Casey Awards

March 22, 2010 by  
Filed under Baseball Writing

Earlier this month,  Spitball Literary Magazine awarded its 2009 CASEY Award for baseball writing excellence.  In 1983 Spitball established the CASEY Award to honor the authors and publishers of the best baseball books published each year.  The CASEY was the first award of its kind, and it is widely recognized as the most prestigious award that a baseball book can be given.

The 2009 CASEY award winner was Satchel: The Life and Times of an American Legend, by Larry Tye

Synopsis (Source: B&  He is that rare American icon who has never been captured in a biography worthy of him. Now, at last, here is the superbly researched, spellbindingly told story of athlete, showman, philosopher, and boundary breaker Leroy “Satchel” Paige.

Through dogged research and extensive interviews, award-winning author and journalist Larry Tye has tracked down the truth about this majestic and enigmatic pitcher. Here is the stirring account of the child born to a poor Alabama washerwoman, the boy who earned his nickname from his enterprising work as a railroad porter, and the young man who took up baseball on the streets and in reform school before becoming the superstar hurler of the Negro Leagues. In unprecedented detail, Tye reveals how Paige, hurt and angry when Jackie Robinson beat him in breaking the Majors’ color barrier, emerged at the improbable age of forty-two to help propel the Cleveland Indians to the World Series. (“Age is a case of mind over matter,” he said.  “If you don’t mind, it don’t matter.”)

Ratings:  Amazon 4.55  B&N 4.00  Goodreads 3.88

This book also won the Seymour Medal from SABR.



The CASEY Award was inaugurated in 1983 by Mike Shannon and W.J. Harrison, the editors and co-founders of Spitball: The Literary Baseball Magazine.

1983-The Celebrant -Eric Rolfe Greenberg- Everest House
1984-Bums: An Oral History of the Brooklyn Dodgers -Peter Golenbock- Putnams
1985-Good Enough to Dream -Roger Kahn- Doubleday
1986-The Bill James Historical Abstract -Bill James- Villard
1987-Diamonds Are Forever: Artists and Writers on Baseball -Peter H. Gordon, Editor- Chronicle Books
1988-Blackball Stars -John Holway- Meckler
1989-The Pitch that Killed -Mike Sowell- Macmillan
1990-Baseball: The People’s Game -Harold Seymour- Oxford University Press
1991-To Everything A Season: Shibe Park and Urban Philadelphia,1909-1976 -Bruce Kuklick- Princeton University Press
1992-The Negro Baseball Leagues: A Photographic History -Phil Dixon- Amereon
1993-Diamonds: The Evolution of the Ballpark -Michael Gershman- Houghton Mifflin
1994-Lords of the Realm -John Helyar- Villard
1995-Walter Johnson: Baseball’s Big Train -Henry W. Thomas- Phenom Press
1996-Slide, Kelly, Slide -Marty Appel- Scarecrow Press
1997-Play for a Kingdom -Thomas Dyja- Harcourt Brace
1998-Judge and Jury -David Pietrusza- Diamond Communications
1999-Slouching Toward Fargo -Neal Karlen- Spike
Cy Young: A Baseball Life  -Reed Browning- The University of Massachusetts Press
The Final Season  -Tom Stanton- Thomas Dunne Books
Shut Out: A Story of Race and Baseball in Boston  -Howard Bryant- Routledge
Moneyball: The Art of Winning an Unfair Game  -Michael Lewis- W.W.Norton
Ted Williams: The Life of an American Hero  -Leigh Montville- Doubleday
Luckiest Man: The Life and Death of Lou Gehrig  -Jonathan Eig- Simon & Schuster
Game of Inches: The Stories Behind the Innovations that Shaped Baseball -Peter Morris- Ivan R. Dee
The Soul of Baseball: A Road Trip through Buck O’Neil’s America -Joe Posnanski- William Morrow
We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball -Kadir Nelson- Jump at the Sun/Hyperion
Satchel: The Life and Times of an American Hero -Larry Tye- Random House

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

Better Tag Cloud