Monday, May 16th, 2022


The Casey Award was inaugurated in 1983 by Mike Shannon and W.J. Harrison, the editors and co-founders of Spitball: The Literary Baseball Magazine, and was the first award to honor the authors and publishers of the best baseball book of the year.

Some of the greatest names in baseball literature (Roger Kahn, Bill James, John Holway, Harold Seymour, to name but a few) have won this coveted prize, but each of the 240+ books that have been nominated as finalists for the Casey Award are substantial contributors to baseball literature and would make a fabulous start to an impressive baseball library.

The award is presented to the winning author at the annual Casey Banquet, held in the Cincinnati area. The evening’s hero and attending baseball bibliophiles are treated to an evening of baseball trivia culled from that year’s nominated titles, a traditional ballpark dinner of hot dogs, peanuts, and beer, a visit from the infamous Ballzak the Magnificent, and a display of all the year’s baseball titles!  

*Source: Spitball Literary Magazine

Previous Winners
1983-The Celebrant -Eric Rolfe Greenberg- Everest House
1984-Bums: An Oral History of the Brooklyn Dodgers -Peter Golenbock- Putnams
1985-Good Enough to Dream -Roger Kahn- Doubleday
1986-The Bill James Historical Abstract -Bill James- Villard
1987-Diamonds Are Forever: Artists and Writers on Baseball -Peter H. Gordon, Editor- Chronicle Books
1988-Blackball Stars -John Holway- Meckler
1989-The Pitch that Killed -Mike Sowell- Macmillan
1990-Baseball: The People’s Game -Harold Seymour- Oxford University Press
1991-To Everything A Season: Shibe Park and Urban Philadelphia,1909-1976 -Bruce Kuklick- Princeton University Press
1992-The Negro Baseball Leagues: A Photographic History -Phil Dixon- Amereon
1993-Diamonds: The Evolution of the Ballpark -Michael Gershman- Houghton Mifflin
1994-Lords of the Realm -John Helyar- Villard
1995-Walter Johnson: Baseball’s Big Train -Henry W. Thomas- Phenom Press
1996-Slide, Kelly, Slide -Marty Appel- Scarecrow Press
1997-Play for a Kingdom -Thomas Dyja- Harcourt Brace
1998-Judge and Jury -David Pietrusza- Diamond Communications
1999-Slouching Toward Fargo -Neal Karlen- Spike
2000-Cy Young: A Baseball Life  -Reed Browning- The University of Massachusetts Press
2001-The Final Season  -Tom Stanton- Thomas Dunne Books
2002-Shut Out: A Story of Race and Baseball in Boston  -Howard Bryant- Routledge
2003-Moneyball: The Art of Winning an Unfair Game  -Michael Lewis- W.W.Norton
2004-Ted Williams: The Life of an American Hero  -Leigh Montville- Doubleday
2005-Luckiest Man: The Life and Death of Lou Gehrig  -Jonathan Eig- Simon & Schuster
2006-Game of Inches: The Stories Behind the Innovations that Shaped Baseball -Peter Morris- Ivan R. Dee
2007-The Soul of Baseball: A Road Trip through Buck O’Neil’s America -Joe Posnanski- William Morrow
2008-We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball -Kadir Nelson- Jump at the Sun/Hyperion
2009-Satchel: The Life and Times of an American Hero -Larry Tye- Random House

Better Tag Cloud