Wednesday, February 1st, 2023

Chadwick Award

The Henry Chadwick Award was established in November 2009 to honor baseball’s great researchers—historians, statisticians, annalists, and archivists—for their invaluable contributions to making baseball the game that links America’s present with its past.

Apart from honoring individuals for the length and breadth of their contribution to the study and enjoyment of baseball, the Chadwick Award will educate the baseball community about sometimes little known but vastly important contributions from the game’s past and thus encourage the next generation of researchers.

The contributions of nominees must have had public impact. This may be demonstrated by publication of research in any of a variety of formats: books, magazine articles, websites, etc. The compilation of a significant database or archive that has facilitated the published research of others will also be considered in the realm of public impact.

The inaugural class of recipients, selected in 2010, includes (in alphabetical order):

  • Lee Allen
  • Bob Davids
  • Bill James
  • Peter Morris
  • David Neft
  • Pete Palmer
  • Lawrence Ritter
  • Harold Seymour 
  • Dorothy Seymour Mills
  • Jules Tygiel
Better Tag Cloud